man(1) Manual page archive

     FSTAB(5)                                                 FSTAB(5)

          fstab, mtab - information about file systems

          #include <fstab.h>

          The file describes the normal configuration of file systems.
          It guides the default operation of mount, umount, swapon,
          and fsck(8). The order of records in is important.

          Each line of the file describes one file system.  Fields
          separated by colons specify

               pathname of block device or other mounted object
               pathname of mount point
               file system type number
               integer mount flags
               pass number for checking; see fsck(8)

          File system type numbers and flags are listed in fmount(2).

          Two special non-numeric file system types signify things
          that aren't file systems: `xx' causes the line to be
          ignored, `sw' signifies a swap device.

          Use getfsent(3) to read data from `/etc/fstab'.

          The file lists file systems currently mounted.  Each entry
          is a structure of the form

          #define FSNMLG 32

          struct mtab {
                  char file[FSNMLG];         mount point
                  char spec[FSNMLG-1];       mounted object
                  char type;                 file system type

          A simple fstab.


     FSTAB(5)                                                 FSTAB(5)

          fmount(2), getfsent(3), mount(8)

          Swap areas are not file systems, and should not be described
          in fstab.
          For compatibility with old programs and habits, two depre-
          cated magic file system types survive: `rw' means `type 0,
          flag 0' (a disk file system, mounted for reading and writ-
          ing); `ro' means `type 0, flag 1' (a disk file system,
          mounted read-only).
          Only file systems mounted with mount(8) are listed in mtab.